Steps to Take After a Car Accident
Car accidents are common in Temecula, and it is important that all victims understand what to do.
The moments after a car accident are scary and bring on a lot of confusion. Accident victims often do not know how the crash happened or what to do next. However, it is crucial that all accident victims understand the proper steps to take. The steps taken in the moments, days, and weeks after a crash will have a large impact on the success of a personal injury claim. Below are the most important steps to take if you are hurt in a crash, so you can give your claim the best chance of success.
Remain at the Scene
All drivers in California are expected to remain at the scene of the accident after a crash. If you do not, you may face charges for a hit-and-run accident. It is also important to remain at the scene so you can collect evidence that will be beneficial for your claim.
Seek Medical Help
Your health and safety is the most important priority after a crash. You must seek medical attention as soon as possible so your injuries do not become worse. However, it is also important to seek medical help after an accident because if you do not, the insurance company will claim you were not injured because you did not seek medical help.
To prove that someone else was negligent and caused your crash, you must have evidence to substantiate your claim. Pictures are crucial pieces of evidence, as are eyewitness statements. Obtain the contact information of witnesses and take pictures of the vehicles involved in the crash, as well as photos of your injuries.
You must exchange information with the other driver including their name, contact information, registration information, and insurance information. You will need this to file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company.
Report the Accident
According to California law, you must report any accident that results in injury, death, or property damage that exceeds $1,000. You must report the accident to the California Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days.
Notify Your Insurance Company
Even if someone else was at fault for the crash, you must notify your own insurance company. Failure to do so may result in your insurer cancelling your policy. When speaking to any insurance company, do not admit fault and never say you were not hurt in the crash.
Our California Car Accident Lawyers Can Help with Your Claim
Although there are very important steps for accident victims to take after a crash, not all of them are easy to accomplish when you are trying to recover from your injuries. At Gibbs & Fuerst, LLP, our Temecula car accident lawyers can help. We know how to investigate accidents and collect evidence, and we will deal with the insurance company in order to protect your claim. If you have been hurt in a crash, call us at (951) 397-0928 so we can discuss your claim.